The Truth Is Out Where?

Somehow I’ve been watching The X-Files recently. You expect it to be dated, which it is, at least in the special effects, the clothes/makeup and of course the ever-present UFO theme. But there were some things about it — I don’t even know how to explain it, the ambience , maybe? Or the earnestness of the characters? Something about it does captivate me.

I think it’s the fact that it isn’t overdone. Sure, the theme itself is cheesy, but for all its chronological datedness it doesn’t approach, say, Torchwood
levels of cheese.

Alien encounters haven’t been too explicit so far. Scully is a realist but isn’t too much of a hardass. Mulder is impulsive and imaginative but isn’t an outright idiot. And the two of them, professionally, just work.

My friend pointed this out quite casually while we were all watching: “You know, it’s interesting that the woman is the logical one and the man is the one who ‘believes'”.

Does that mean The X-Files is progressive or was meant to be?

I’ve no idea. I don’t have enough data to go by , but I’ve watched three (ok yeah just three episodes) so far and I do want to keep watching. There’s no flash-bang or drama involved but there’s still something about that show.

Leave a Reply

